

MTI APPOINTS MS CHONG SIAK CHING AS DEPUTY CHAIRMAN, SPRING, AND NEW MEMBERS TO THE EMA AND SPRING BOARDS

The Minister for Trade and Industry has appointed Ms Chong Siak Ching as Deputy Chairman of SPRING Singapore, the enterprise development agency. In addition, six new Board members have been appointed to SPRING and one new Board member to the Energy Market Authority (EMA). Their appointments are with effect from 1 April 2008.

Ms Chong Siak Ching

2. Ms Chong has vast experience in working with companies, including SMEs. She is heading Ascendas, a leading provider of business space with a presence in 10 countries across Asia. Prior to joining Ascendas, Ms Chong was the Deputy Chief Executive Officer of Jurong Town Corporation.



3. In January 2004, Ms Chong was appointed as one of Singapore's three representatives to the APEC Business

Advisory Council. She is also a Director on the Singapore Tourism Board and the Singapore-India Partnership Foundation.

New appointments

4. The following are appointed to the SPRING Singapore and EMA Boards :

SPRING Singapore

- Mr Robert Tsao Hsing-Cheng Chairman Emeritus, United Microelectronics Corporation
- **Prof Jitendra Singh** Dean & Shaw Foundation Chair, Nanyang Business School, Nanyang Technological University
- Ms Janet Young Managing Director and Regional Head MNC (Commercial Corporates), Bank of America
- Mr Ko Kheng Hwa Managing Director, Economic Development Board
- **Mr Thomas Chua Kee Seng** Chairman and Managing Director, Teckwah Industrial Corporation Ltd



• **COL Ng Chee Meng** – Director, Joint Operations Department, Ministry of Defence

In addition, one member of SPRING Singapore Board, Mr Lim Boon Wee, Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Transport, is re-appointed for a twoyear term.

<u>EMA</u>

 Mr John Teo Woon Keng – Chief Financial Officer, Singapore Pools

In addition, one member of the EMA Board, Mr Peter Ng Joo Hee, Director of Prisons, Singapore Prison Service, is re-appointed for a two-year term.

5. Seven Board members have stepped down from the SPRING Singapore Board:

- Mr Gong Wee Lik Deputy Managing Director, Economic Development Board
- Mr Inderjit Singh Chief Executive Officer, Infiniti Solutions Ltd
- Mr Willie Cheng Director, Singapore Press Holdings
- Mr Tan Kian Chew Group Chief Executive Officer, NTUC FairPrice Co-operative Limited
- Mr Yeo Guat Kwang Alignment Director, Quality WorkLife & All Nationalities, National Trades Union Congress
- Mr Lawrence Leow Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Crescendas Group
- BG (NS) Wong Ann Chai former Chief Armour Officer, Ministry of Defence
- 6. One Board member has stepped down from the EMA Board:
 - Mr Nizam Idris Director (Fixed Income, Rates and Currencies), UBS AG



7. The Ministry of Trade and Industry, SPRING Singapore and EMA welcome the new Board members and also express their appreciation to the outgoing members for their invaluable contributions.

8. SPRING Singapore's Board comprises 18 members and EMA's Board comprises nine. The current lists for both Boards may be found at Annex.

Issued by :

MINISTRY OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY ENERGY MARKET AUTHORITY SPRING SINGAPORE 1 April 2008

For media enquiries, please contact:

Madeline Pereira Corporate Communications Ministry of Trade and Industry Tel: +65 6332 7223 E-mail: madeline_pereira@mti.gov.sg

Nelyn Nah Corporate Communications SPRING Singapore Tel: +65 6279 3799 E-mail: nelyn_nah@spring.gov.sg

Jenny Teo Corporate Communications Energy Market Authority Tel : +65 6835 8186 Email : jenny_teo@ ema.gov.sg



<u>Annex</u>

SPRING Singapore's Board Members

Chairman

Mr Philip Yeo

Deputy Chairman

Ms Chong Siak Ching President and CEO Ascendas Pte Ltd

Members

Mr Loh Khum Yean Chief Executive SPRING Singapore

Prof Chong Tow Chong Executive Director Science & Engineering Research Council Agency for Science, Technology and Research

Mr Thomas Chua Kee Seng Chairman and Managing Director Teckwah Industrial Corporation Ltd

Mrs Kim Faulkner Chief Executive Officer Activiste Pte Ltd

Mr Ko Kheng Hwa Managing Director Economic Development Board

Mr Lim Boon Wee Deputy Secretary Ministry of Transport

Dr Moh Chong Tau President and CEO Makino Asia Pte Ltd

COL Ng Chee Meng Director, Joint Operations Department Ministry of Defence



Mr Ong Ye Kung Chief Executive Singapore Workforce Development Agency

Mr Steven Phan Partner Assurance & Advisory Business Services Ernst & Young

Prof Jitendra Singh Dean & Shaw Foundation Chair Nanyang Business School Nanyang Technological University

Mr Ted Tan Deputy Chief Executive Officer International Enterprise Singapore

Mr Robert Tsao Hsing-Cheng Chairman Emeritus United Microelectronics Corporation

Mr Tony L. White Chairman, President and CEO Applera Corporation

Ms Janet Young Managing Director Regional Head MNC (Commercial Corporates) Bank of America

Mr Zaqy Mohamad Regional Director, Solutions (South-East Asia) Avanade Asia Pte Ltd



Energy Market Authority's Board Members

Chairman

Mr Chiang Chie Foo Permanent Secretary Ministry of Defence, and Permanent Secretary Prime Minister's Office

Deputy Chairman

Ms Chan Lai Fung Permanent Secretary Ministry of Law

Members

Mr Khoo Chin Hean Chief Executive Energy Market Authority

Mr Seck Wai Kwong Senior Executive Vice President Singapore Exchange Ltd

Mr Jen Kwong Hwa Managing Director Micron Semiconductor Asia (S) Ltd

Prof Richard Whish Professor of Law King's College London, School of Law

Mr Peter Ng Joo Hee Director of Prisons Singapore Prisons Service

Mr David Wong See Hong Managing Director and Chief Executive, S E A ABN AMRO Bank NV

Mr John Teo Woon Keng Chief Financial Officer Singapore Pools (Private) Limited