Board Changes at Energy Market Authority, Enterprise Singapore and JTC Corporation

30 Mar 2020

1. The Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) today announced board changes at the Energy Market Authority (EMA), Enterprise Singapore (ESG) and JTC Corporation (JTC). These changes will take effect on 1 April 2020.

Energy Market Authority (EMA)

2. MTI has appointed a new Chairman and one new Member to the Board of EMA. They also re-appointed three Members to the Board of EMA:

Appointment of Chairman

  • Mr Richard Lim Cherng Yih, Chairman, ST Logistics

Appointment of New Board Member

  • Ms Paula Conboy, Executive Consultant and Advisor

Re-Appointment of Board Member

  • Mr Kon Yin Tong, Managing Partner, Foo Kon Tan LLP
  • Mr Zia Zaman, Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Lumen Lab, and Senior Vice President & Chief Innovation Officer, MetLife Innovation Centre Pte Ltd
  • Ms Quah Ley Hoon, Chief Executive, Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore

Enterprise Singapore (ESG)

3. MTI has appointed five new Members, and re-appointed the Chairman and ten Members to the Board of ESG:

Appointment of New Board Members

  • Ms Chin Wei Jia, Chief Executive Officer, HMI Group
  • Mr Luke Goh, Deputy Secretary (Trade), Ministry of Trade and Industry
  • Mr Loke Wai San, Executive Chairman and Director, AEM
  • Mr Frank Phuan, Chief Executive Officer & Executive Director Sunseap Group
  • Mr Daniel Wong, Group General Manager Bee Cheng Hiang Hup Chong Foodstuff Pte Ltd

Re-appointment of Board Members

  • Mr Peter Ong, Senior Economic Advisor, Ministry of Trade and Industry
  • Dr Beh Swan Gin, Chairman, Economic Development Board
  • Mr Piyush Gupta, Chief Executive Officer, DBS Group Holdings Ltd
  • Mr Vivek Kumar, Assistant Director-General, National Trades Union Congress
  • Ms Jeanne Liew, Principal and Chief Executive Officer, Nanyang Polytechnic
  • Mr Lim Chow Kiat, Chief Executive Officer, GIC Pte Ltd
  • Mr Max Loh, Managing Partner, Singapore & Brunei, EY Singapore
  • Mr Pierre Lorinet, Non-Executive Director, Trafigura Pte Ltd
  • Mr Mohamed Nasser Bin Ismail, Senior Vice President, Head Equities Capital Markets, Singapore Exchange Limited
  • Mr Dilhan Pillay Sandrasegara, Chief Executive Officer, Temasek International Pte Ltd
  • Mr Teo Siong Seng, Chairman, Singapore Business Federation

JTC Corporation (JTC)

4. MTI has appointed two new Members and re-appointed two Members to the Board of JTC:

Appointment of New Board Members

  • Mr Adrian Chua, Deputy Secretary (Industry), Ministry of Trade and Industry
  • Mr Muthukrishnan Ramaswami, Partner, PeepalTree Pte Ltd
Re-appointment of Board Members
  • LG Melvyn Ong Su Kiat, Chief of Defence, Ministry of Defence
  • Mr Michael Sim, Executive Director, Platanetree Capital Pte Ltd

In Appreciation

Energy Market Authority (EMA)

  • Mr Ng How Yue, Chairman, EMA
  • Mr Pek Hak Bin, Non-Executive Director, Tayrona Financial Pte Ltd

Enterprise Singapore (ESG)

  • Mr Andrew Kwan, Group Managing Director, Commonwealth Capital Pte Ltd
  • Mr Eugene Wong, Founder and Managing Director, Sirius Venture Capital Pte Ltd
  • Ms Audrey Yap, Co-founder and Managing Partner, Yusarn Audrey
  • Mr Low Ming Wah, President and Chief Operating Officer, Micro-Mechanics Holdings Ltd
  • Mr Renny Yeo, Chairman, Singapore Accreditation Council

JTC Corporation (JTC)

  • Mr Lam Yi Young, Deputy Secretary (Industry), Ministry of Trade and Industry
  • Mr Shafie Bin Shamsuddin, Managing Director, Aeon Co (M) Bhd

6. Mr Lee Chuan Teck, Permanent Secretary (Development) for MTI, expressed his appreciation to Mr Ng How Yue for his contributions to EMA during his time as Chairman of EMA. Mr Lee said, “How Yue has played a key role in leading EMA to forge a progressive energy landscape for sustained growth. Under his leadership, the successful rollout of the Open Electricity Market last year saw consumers being able to benefit from greater choice and competitive prices. I would like to express MTI’s deep appreciation for his invaluable contributions.”

7. MTI would also like to thank all the outgoing Board Members of EMA, ESG and JTC for their contributions and welcome the new Board members.

(The write-ups of the new Board members, and the full list of Board members of EMA, ESG and JTC can be found in Annex.)



Back to Top